Dec. 9th Episode/Sea and Be Scene

Here is last Friday’s episode, few days late but internet problems at work this week.

http://www.archive.org/details/SaltWaterMusicDecember9th2011

“Open up with David Myles, Duane Andrews and The Once. New music from Ria Mae, The Penny Blacks, Andrea Simms Karp and Ian Foster. Holidays coming up and a brand new song for this time of year with ‘Christmas by the Sea’ by Stephanie Beaumont. Followed by Natalie McMaster who will be on the show next week. Some of the remastered ‘Fogarty’s Cove’ album by Stan Rogers. End the show with Allison Crowe who is in the midst of some Christmas concerts.”

On Twitter I’ve linked to the Sea and Be Scene website before but time to do a write up as well. Stephanie Beaumont started it last year and she had a YouTube channel for the videos and did start a podcast too. Best source to keep track of music on the East Coast as she has interviewed a lot of them. She’s based in Nova Scotia so a little bit easier than me in Ontario. 🙂

All my interviews have been phoners so far. Does lead to interesting behind the scenes things. Tim Baker from Hey Rosetta! did an interview on his cell phone while walking around Toronto on a day off during a tour. Air Traffic Control stopped at a gas station pay-phone somewhere in Quebec to give me a call as they were driving back from Ontario to Nova Scotia.

She describes the site : “We are an entertainment based, magazine style website designed to celebrate the 4 Atlantic Provinces. Our goal is to profile all the people, places and things that make Nova Scotia, Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island so very special.”

Sure readers will reconginze Stephanie from her music or TV work. When I lived in Ottawa Valley I was in a small place that had about 15 channels on cable. When some new stations popped up in mid 90s we somehow got Discovery Channel and a music one called NCN. Both those channels are still around, although anyone under 20 is wondering ‘What the heck was NCN?’. It stood for “New Country Network” which you know today as “CMT Canada”. We had no MuchMusic, MuchMoreMusic or any other music station on this small cable system. So on Saturdays they had something called Rock N Country where they would play a mix of Country Videos, Rock and Pop. Being as it was my only source of music videos I watched pretty much every week. Could have a song from Stephanie, Hootie and the Blowfish and Bob Seger in the same set.

From a site on Cape Breton called ‘What’s Going On’.


Beaumont is an award winning country singer who had a string of hits on the Canadian country music charts from 1995 to 2000. Her two albums, Love And Dreams and Way Over My Heart, delivered nine Top 40 hits for the Nova Scotia singer.

She won the Outstanding New Female Artist Award at the RPM Big Country Awards in 1999 on the strength of her 1998 album Way Over My Heart. She also received nominations for The Rising Star Award and The Top Female Vocalist Award from the Canadian Country Music Association.

Although she hasn’t released any new music since 2000, she did join Cape Breton musician Aaron Lewis this year in a duet on his new album. Aaron says, “She has such a pure voice and strong delivery, I knew she was the one for the duet of Separate Lives on my new CD.”

She does have some new music which is at the end of this post.

Few years later got satellite TV and I had all these channels from across Canada. After years of barely having 15 I would watch a tonne of shows just to see what they were like. Watching an entertainment show in Alberta called ‘Wired’ and who pops up as host? Stephanie. Goes back to what I’ve said before Canadian Media is a smaller group than you would imagine.

She was popular during her time in Edmonton as evidence by a message board I found through Google. A thread was started about the women on TV news in Edmonton, or as they put it the “Hotties”. [Not the most serious topic I know] This was after she had left the station;

“ohhhh yes Stephanie Beaumont has to be the best!”

“Stephanie Beaumont is another young lady that I have met…. very attractive.”

Somewhere in Nova Scotia she is turning red. With Christmas coming up RED is a holiday colour. Did show she left an impression in Alberta. Her bio from http://seaandbescene.com

“I was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia, so I guess you could say that I’m biased – but I’ve found an awful lot of people who’ll back me up – you’ll find them here on Sea and be Scene – waving the ‘fun flag’ where the 4 Atlantic Provinces are concerned – and I’m meeting more every day…locals, CFA’s, tourists, you name it – they love living here, moving here, visiting here and they want to share the love – as do I.

I should tell you too – that I love what I do – creating and producing this site (together with family, friends, and one rockin’ website team) – is a dream come true. My career path through corporate marketing in Toronto, to singing on stages around the world, to broadcasting on TV and radio stations across the country has lead me back to the province of my birth and this web-site.

Sea and be Scene has allowed me to reunite with many friends I had met along the way and back in the day…and it will allow me the chance to meet new and wonderful folk in the future.

For a people person like me these are exciting times!”

She has a Christmas song out for the holidays which I’ll play this week on the show and over the next few shows leading up to Christmas. You can get it through iTunes or Amazon.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/christmas-by-the-sea/id482067402?i=482067408&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

http://www.amazon.com/Christmas-By-The-Sea-Single/dp/B006BTBBWU/

Here is a post about all the people who helped with the song as well.

http://seaandbescene.com/2011/11/christmas-by-the-sea-with-love/

Finally the YouTube page with 260 videos and counting.

http://www.youtube.com/user/SeaAndBeScene

Tomorrow on the show, might have an interview.  If everything works out.  Last minute changes so it’s up in the air.  Tune it at 7pm EST tomorrow and find out.  The interview would be taped Friday afternoon so it will be down to the wire.

Leave a Reply

