Patrick Roy/ROY

For a short post on a Sunday, Toni’s story about saying Patrick Roy the wrong way on the radio.  For this blog if you see “Roy” it is the proper way to say it. If you see “ROY” in caps it is ROY Rogers.

People still remember this trick played on Toni Marie from years ago.

ROB:    Since we’re on the radio what’s the first thing that comes to mind from doing radio?

TONI:    I could tell you a really funny story, since you’re also involved in sports and I know you would appreciate this story quite a bit.  I had been in radio for a while, I mostly was a DJ.  I played music, did voice commercials and that sort of thing.  Also I had written some news and a bit of sports.  But I hadn’t done a lot of sports.  Normally there’s a sports person.

This one summer someone from our sister station OZ FM went on vacation for an extended period.  They needed someone to read news, sports and weather.  Not being an avid sports watcher, I was not quite familiar with all of the names.

This one particular newscast I was reading, I came across the name Patrick Roy. I asked my producer the proper way to pronounce it. Now, I’d assumed it was Patrick Roy.

I said, “It’s Patrick Roy isn’t it?”

He says, “How’s the last name, spelled, Toni?”

“It’s spelled, R-o-y.”

My producer said, “Well, it sounds like ROY to me.”

“Are you sure?”

“Would I steer you wrong?”

“No, I’m sure you wouldn’t, Bill.”

We recorded three newscasts during each one I called Patrick Roy, Patrick ROY.

He knew the difference and was having some fun with me.

That probably happened about nineteen years ago. And I still have men who come up to me now, and ask me how Patrick ROY is doing.

The next day after work I was so embarrassed. Bill who’s a veteran of radio thought it was the funniest thing.

I guess OZ FM was kind of the cutting edge FM radio station at the time, and got away with a lot more than other radio stations would.

So management wasn’t upset with me they thought it was a little funny.

And kind of sweet, you know…. “Aw, the young girl.”

I asked Bill why he did that. And he said, “Well, they don’t say it’s Roy Rogers. They say, ROY Rogers.” Which really didn’t make it any better. 🙂

One comment

Leave a Reply

