Mid-Week Links

Weather co-operated so the Regatta is going on today. First up today a link to another blogger originally from Newfoundland.  Nadine’s blog is called ‘Missing the Rock’.

http://missingtherock.blogspot.com/

“I am one of the many Newfoundlanders living and working away from The Rock, and I miss it dearly. Home is a constant image in my mind, even though I haven’t lived there in over 9 years.

There is something about the Island that seeps into your soul, and never allows you to truly leave. It makes life away difficult. Lonely. But, I, like so many others make the best of it. I married my best friend, I have a sweet little boy, and a job I enjoy (ok maybe enjoy is a bit of a strong word).

So in many ways I have been very lucky. This blog is for anyone out there who longs for home, and far flung family and friends. I tend to prefer more interactive elements of the internet- and so I encourge you to leave a comment, or two. Let’s have a conversation.”

Add that to your bookmarks or Blogreader.  Great posts on there.  Nadine is part of the NL Blogroll which I just found.  Now here is a LOT of Newfoundland blogs.  Too many to even start with a list.

http://nlblogroll.blogspot.com/

Over to sports with The CIS Blog.  CIS is the name for Canadian University Sports.  Used to be called the CIAU but they changed that a few years ago.  Bit of news from my Twitter account on there.

Matt Bisson sent me a message on Facebook that we are doing the preseason game on the radio.  Which I didn’t know about so I passed it along on Twitter last night.  Queen’s is traveling to Toronto for a game Monday, August 31st with a 7pm kickoff .  In a way that’s a bit of Monday Night Football on CFRC.

http://www.cisblog.ca/

Back to the CIS Blog, Neate Sager is one of the editors there.  Former contributor to Offsides on CFRC.  Or should the wording be, contributor to a “former” sports show on the station.  Hmmm. Either way he also has the Out of Left Field blog as well.

http://neatesager.blogspot.com

Staying with Queen’s Football, one of its newest members is on Twitter and has a blog.  Shomari Williams transfered from the University of Houston to Queen’s this year.  Nice to see one of the Gaels online.

Would’ve linked to Shomari anyway, but he’s a fellow Washington Redskins fan.  A good reason to put it up as quickly as I can. 🙂

http://twitter.com/blac33

http://shomariwilliams.wordpress.com/

Finally a friend from high school has started a blog.  Found Mellowdee Krieger Cliffe on Facebook before my radio show started.  She told me about a script for a film she was working on.  2 years later it’s getting closer to reality.  I’ll grab a paragraph from her first blog post about it.  Her blog is called ‘Mellowdee’s Mindclutter’.

“Part of the reason I decided to start this ‘public’ blog is because some friends n’ family have suggested that it might be a neat idea to record this period of our lives.

For those I haven’t told yet, our script has entered ‘development’ – the first phase towards making it into a film for theatrical release. So yeah, it might be fun to write about this whole process, because I honestly don’t know what to expect on this journey into film and writing.”

http://mellowdeesmindclutter.blogspot.com/

All right I think that’s it for today.  Busy post for mid-week.

I worked all long weekend, so I have today off.  Get to watch the Regatta coverage on NTV today.  Hope the weather stays nice.

Leave a Reply

